llRequestURL returns give errors

Ask technical support questions about other topics
Post Reply
User avatar
Kayaker Magic
Posts: 354
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 8:40 am
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 393 times

llRequestURL returns give errors

Post by Kayaker Magic »

When I call llRequestURL, http_request returns me a URL that looks like this:
http://ec2-54-177-17-103.us-west-1.comp ... 0ffd0ca01/
But when I try to use that URL from another prim to send a message using llHTTPRequest, I get error messages like this:
llHttpRequest: Request to http://ec2-54-177-17-103.us-west-1.comp ... 0to%20race! disallowed by filter

(the status and message parameters are the messages I am trying to send from one prim to another).

Are prim-to-prim HTTP Requests disabled on Kitely?
User avatar
Oren Hurvitz
Posts: 361
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:42 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 499 times
Contact:

Re: llRequestURL returns give errors

Post by Oren Hurvitz »

Hi Kayaker,

This is due to a security feature that was added to OpenSim in March this year. All HTTP requests to servers inside the network are disallowed, to protect against malicious scripts causing damage. You can see a discussion of this feature here: http://www.hypergridbusiness.com/2015/0 ... id-owners/

Can you use an alternative method for prim-to-prim communications, e.g. using channels?
User avatar
Kayaker Magic
Posts: 354
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 8:40 am
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 393 times

Re: llRequestURL returns give errors

Post by Kayaker Magic »

Oren Hurvitz wrote:Can you use an alternative method for prim-to-prim communications, e.g. using channels?
The prim-to-prim communication was only a test, I was working up to making HTTP requests from my WEB server to a prim.
I'll have to go directly to testing from the server. I assume that is still allowed?
User avatar
Oren Hurvitz
Posts: 361
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:42 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 499 times
Contact:

Re: llRequestURL returns give errors

Post by Oren Hurvitz »

Hmmm, I don't know. The filtering code is only for outgoing requests, AFAIK. Could you test this and let us know what you find?
Post Reply