seeking participants for *quick* academic survey

Using virtual worlds for education
Mercury Blue
Has thanked: 0

seeking participants for *quick* academic survey

Post by Mercury Blue »

Hi all,

I’m a grad student in the University of Leicester’s Museum Studies Program looking for 20 Kitely residents over the age of 18 interested in taking a brief survey about museums in virtual worlds, even if you’ve never been to one. This research seeks to develop a better understanding of these virtual institutions in-context - what they do, what they don’t do, who uses them (or doesn’t) and why. My research also includes lots of other worlds in addition to Kitely – ActiveWorlds, Kaneva, Blue Mars, OSgrid, Second Life, etc etc., so if you’re a resident in any others as well, I’d love to hear from you!

The survey is quick – at most 5 to 10 minutes - and data collection is completely anonymous and used exclusively for my dissertation. No emails, names, usernames, or IP addresses are requested or collected.

While I've been able to offer limited compensation in a few other surveys, as I’m researching a large number of worlds I'm unfortunately unable to offer any compensation for this particular survey beyond my gratitude and the knowledge that your time goes to support a legitimate academic cause. But I would love to gain some insight from residents older than myself, so if you’re involved in the cultural scene of virtual worlds or interested in contributing to their study, I would be extremely grateful if you would consider sharing the benefit of your thoughts and experience.

The survey can be found here - if you’re interested, please check out the first page for more detail about purpose and confidentiality, etc., or feel free to IM me or email me at jat41@leicester.ac.uk with any questions.

Thanks!
-Mercury

[edited to clarify study compensation]
Last edited by Mercury Blue on Wed Dec 25, 2013 12:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
Graham Mills