Using Sloodle

Using virtual worlds for education
Graham Mills
Posts: 999
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:26 pm
Has thanked: 610 times
Been thanked: 758 times

Re: Using Sloodle

Post by Graham Mills » Thu May 08, 2014 2:20 pm

I think that depends on whether you use Moodle? It's not critical for me.

Has anyone sought advice on https://www.sloodle.org/moodle/mod/forum/view.php?f=15? Failing that, Daniel Livingstone is on the opensim educators list so you could ask there as well. [update: I'm not sure how closely Daniel is involved with Sloodle at present]
Ramesh Ramloll wrote:I think Moodle integration with Kitely is critical for any serious virtual learning environment application. I am subscribing to this thread to learn what emerges.
User avatar
Handy Low
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:38 pm
Location: Yorkshire, England
Has thanked: 207 times
Been thanked: 140 times
Contact:

Re: Using Sloodle

Post by Handy Low » Thu May 08, 2014 9:38 pm

Yes, I've used the SLOODLE forums to ask questions.

I just have this nagging suspicion that regions going offline the way they do here might have been messing with SLOODLE, and I guess it would be comforting to know that people are using it without problems here.
Handy Low
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
Posts: 4868
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has thanked: 2586 times
Been thanked: 2626 times
Contact:

Re: Using Sloodle

Post by Ilan Tochner » Thu May 08, 2014 9:47 pm

As far as I know SLOODLE should work with OpenSim without any requirement for the sim to be always on (in fact I've never heard of a sim on SL or OpenSim never being restarted).

Kitely shuts down regions using the standard OpenSim shudown procedure, so if SLOODLE needs to persist some data that isn't persisted by the sim itself it should have ample time to do so.
These users thanked the author Ilan Tochner for the post:
Handy Low
User avatar
Handy Low
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:38 pm
Location: Yorkshire, England
Has thanked: 207 times
Been thanked: 140 times
Contact:

Re: Using Sloodle

Post by Handy Low » Thu May 08, 2014 11:12 pm

Thanks Ilan. The problem I was having that made me suspect an issue with region shutdown turns out to be caused by something else.
Handy Low
Mark Gallagher
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 6:49 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Using Sloodle

Post by Mark Gallagher » Sat Jun 28, 2014 9:00 am

Yes I have it working...
Most of the links and locations for sloodle tools and resources listed or linked are gone. Even the developers have moved on but still keep an ear to the ground (so to speak) and are willing to help. After quite a bit of fumbling around I was able to find the Sloodle objects and get them to work here in Kitely. No trouble using opensim on the Kitely side at all. As far as I know Sloodle was built to work with Moodle only.
My experience so far leads me to believe that developing courses for use in world will take quite a bit of work and some skills in scripting, building and graphics. Not something a teacher or instructor is likely going to have time or the inclination for I would think. But the effects and potential are amazing!
Mark
User avatar
Ramesh Ramloll
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 5:16 pm
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Using Sloodle

Post by Ramesh Ramloll » Sat Jun 28, 2014 10:48 am

This is good news Mark.
User avatar
Handy Low
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:38 pm
Location: Yorkshire, England
Has thanked: 207 times
Been thanked: 140 times
Contact:

Re: Using Sloodle

Post by Handy Low » Sat Jun 28, 2014 11:03 pm

That's interesting and reassuring, Mark - thanks.
Handy Low
Post Reply