Uploading from SketchUp

Building using prims, sculpties and meshes. Texture creation techniques.
Post Reply
Scott Dolphin
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 7:06 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Uploading from SketchUp

Post by Scott Dolphin »

I am trying to upload some simple Collada file builds from SketchUp and running into some trouble. I can bring in simple shapes with no problem but when I try to upload a simple floorplan with some door and window openings, a couple of practice textures and few stock windows, and I am having some issues. The outer surface of the walls is not importing. All the inside walls are fine but I am missing the exterior surface.

Thoughts and suggestions?

ALSO...I assume that I can only use the Lowest physics mesh in Opensim? It won't let me choose anything else. Please confirm?
These users thanked the author Scott Dolphin for the post (total 2):
Ilan TochnerFreda Frostbite
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
Posts: 5264
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has thanked: 3036 times
Been thanked: 3071 times
Contact:

Re: Uploading from SketchUp

Post by Ilan Tochner »

Hi Scott,

Please see: viewtopic.php?t=3199
These users thanked the author Ilan Tochner for the post (total 5):
Scott DolphinGraham MillsSelby EvansFreda FrostbiteAda Radius
Zed deTremont
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:37 am
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: Uploading from SketchUp

Post by Zed deTremont »

Hello Scott,
Uploading in principle shouldn't be dependent of the 3D program you use as long as you export them from there to a .dae file. Although it's not bad to keep track of some rules.
1. If you make walls, best practice is to make them in elements and don't try to get a whole house at once in a grid. This way you can keep your physics shapes very simple, often reduce it to 4 triangles (back and front- sides are rarely needed.
2. Please check on eventual stacked verts. Sorry I do not know where you are in modelling but this is a very common problem when I see meshes of people starting to make them.
3. Good practice is to make your LODs manually, the once generated by the viewer are in general just bad. Collapse is bad or you need way too many tris, this way it's perfectly possible to make a mesh of which you barely see a collapse.
4. Check the collapse of your meshes visually (inworld) see that it is correct for it's usage. Iow there is no need whatsoever to have a super heavy LOD for something which will be anyway indoors. It just will demand more rendering time for something which anyway want be visible.
5. VERY important, make your physics shape as simple as possible, if you can do it with 2 planes (4 tris) use those instead of 8. Example, unless you really want to jump through your window you can normally close these. That makes 4 tris instead of 12. Physics shapes demand a lot of the engine. On top of that, whatever doesn't need physics as moulding high on a build, ornamentation etc set the physics to none.
6. Under no circumstance make a physics with dense geometry, those are heavy lag creators, not only for you but for all regions on the same server (nice is Ilan can confirm this, he will be more specialised in this part)
7. Sorry but I can't see any geometry so only can guess but think you're trying to get in too much wall in one go.
You can contact me inworld if you like, perhaps I can help you further when I see more
Hope this helps
Cheers,
Zed
These users thanked the author Zed deTremont for the post (total 6):
Ilan TochnerGraham MillsSelby EvansFreda FrostbiteAda RadiusChris Namaste
Scott Dolphin
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 7:06 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Uploading from SketchUp

Post by Scott Dolphin »

Many Thanks,
That answers a lot of my questions. I was trying to see if I could import a simple complete shed structure and every single version showed up with something different missing every time. There was no consistent error.
I totally forgot that I only need the window in the texture...my drafting background was overthinking it.
These users thanked the author Scott Dolphin for the post:
Freda Frostbite
User avatar
Ada Radius
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 6:20 pm
Has thanked: 142 times
Been thanked: 169 times

Re: Uploading from SketchUp

Post by Ada Radius »

Are these SketchUp models you made or from the freeby site? If the latter, then they're probably a mess, causing all kinds of errors. What Zed said about building with simple mesh cubes and planes is better. If you can use the same 8 vert cube, 3 vert and 4 vert planes, for any of the build that needs physics you'll put far less strain on the server. Everything else, phantom.
Scott Dolphin wrote:
Wed Apr 22, 2020 11:39 pm
I am trying to upload some simple Collada file builds from SketchUp and running into some trouble. I can bring in simple shapes with no problem but when I try to upload a simple floorplan with some door and window openings, a couple of practice textures and few stock windows, and I am having some issues. The outer surface of the walls is not importing. All the inside walls are fine but I am missing the exterior surface.

Thoughts and suggestions?
These users thanked the author Ada Radius for the post (total 3):
Ilan TochnerFreda FrostbiteFrank SquirrelHerder
Post Reply