Move or Teleport on Click for Prims

Building using prims, sculpties and meshes. Texture creation techniques.
Post Reply
User avatar
Koshari Mahana
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 8:14 am
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 196 times
Contact:

Move or Teleport on Click for Prims

Post by Koshari Mahana »

Hi all,

I've always thought that being able to click the land to move to that spot or teleport to that spot only worked on real land and not on unscripted prims but I've since found out that isn't the case. I have a customer that pointed out that in some of my buildings they can click on the floor to move or to teleport and some of my buildings they can't. I looked at them and all of the settings are the same, they are all set to "touch" (on the general tab). I don't understand why some prims you can click to move or teleport and some prims you can't. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Koshari
These users thanked the author Koshari Mahana for the post (total 2):
Ilan TochnerChris Namaste
Image
VISIT FOUR WINDS ON THE MARKET
VISIT FOUR WINDS INWORLD: hop://grid.kitely.com:8002/Coopersville/909/907/21
User avatar
Krull Kitty
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 1:25 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Move or Teleport on Click for Prims

Post by Krull Kitty »

Ahhhh, well this may seem like an obvious answer and I may be wrong, but...

Generally a script is required in order to TP an AV to a specific location.
Simply setting an objects attribute to touch, which is the default state by the way,
does not imbue said object with the ability to Teleport an Avatar.

If your object, linked or single prim, does not have a script it will not TP and AV.

Perhaps you forgot to drop the script into the object?
OR
Maybe try to reset all scripts in the object from the objects edit menu.
These users thanked the author Krull Kitty for the post:
Koshari Mahana
User avatar
Koshari Mahana
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 8:14 am
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 196 times
Contact:

Re: Move or Teleport on Click for Prims

Post by Koshari Mahana »

Thanks Krull,

That's what I always thought so when she asked me I thought she was confused so I went into my viewer settings and to the tab "move & view" there are 2 settings under "movements". I had always thought that these only worked for actual bare land but not for unscripted prims like floors, walls, streets, and any objects actually but that's not the case at least with the Firestorm viewer. It works for unscripted prims too just the same as it does for bare land. So I learned something new.

If you change those settings it changes how unscripted prims behave. I had no idea until I tried it. Basically where it says "land" it actually behaves like that on prims too... with no scripts.

Here are photos of the settings:
(let me know if you can't see these photos)

Image

Image
These users thanked the author Koshari Mahana for the post:
Krull Kitty
Image
VISIT FOUR WINDS ON THE MARKET
VISIT FOUR WINDS INWORLD: hop://grid.kitely.com:8002/Coopersville/909/907/21
Zed deTremont
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:37 am
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 106 times

Re: Move or Teleport on Click for Prims

Post by Zed deTremont »

Hi Koshari,

This way of moving by double-clicking indeed works on everything, land, prims, mesh (if the physics shape is correct made). I use it all the time and already for many years. Walking/flying became something quite rare.
So if something goes wrong you probably want to check the physics shapes of those items.
Can be done as follow:
1. If you use firestorm:
select the object -> features -> Physics shape type (check the eye next to the checkbox underneath)
This will work for the prims/meshes you selected

For a more general view and to see all physics shapes at once.
2. In Fs, activate the advanced menu via prefs, last item in advanced menu activate developer menu
Developer -> Render metadata -> Physics shapes

Both methods make your physics shapes visible so you can see if something is "blocking" the path.

As extension
The physics shapes will be represented by 3 colour codes
Blue: Physics shape is good or at least found acceptable for the engine
Orange: At least some of the verts are relatively close to each other. In very rare cases this can not be avoided by the creator. If possible set those meshes on Physics shape none. Decreasing these meshes can (in sl) increase the Li, which is inverse of the normal. Just because the verts still get closer.
Red: Serious lag creators, set to Physics shape none or get rid of it. Weirdly enough you find those regularly on larger "rocks" Kitely will give a warning for those and set them phantom. For good reason.

In all the years that I use double-click to move I never encountered the by you described problem, so first reaction is Physics.
Hope this helps
These users thanked the author Zed deTremont for the post (total 3):
Koshari MahanaJohn MelaChris Namaste
User avatar
Koshari Mahana
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 8:14 am
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 196 times
Contact:

Re: Move or Teleport on Click for Prims

Post by Koshari Mahana »

Thanks so much, Zed! I'll check that. I appreciate your help.
These users thanked the author Koshari Mahana for the post (total 2):
Zed deTremontChris Namaste
Image
VISIT FOUR WINDS ON THE MARKET
VISIT FOUR WINDS INWORLD: hop://grid.kitely.com:8002/Coopersville/909/907/21
Zed deTremont
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:37 am
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 106 times

Re: Move or Teleport on Click for Prims

Post by Zed deTremont »

Most welcome Koshari, no warranty that it's this problem, if you like I come over and look at it. First I have to get in Kitely though which unfortunately doesn't seem to be so obvious.
These users thanked the author Zed deTremont for the post:
Chris Namaste
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
Posts: 5435
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has thanked: 3200 times
Been thanked: 3248 times
Contact:

Re: Move or Teleport on Click for Prims

Post by Ilan Tochner »

Thank you Zed,

The automatic converting of overly complex physic meshes to phantom is explained here: https://www.kitely.com/virtual-world-ne ... rovements/
These users thanked the author Ilan Tochner for the post:
Chris Namaste
User avatar
Koshari Mahana
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 8:14 am
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 196 times
Contact:

Re: Move or Teleport on Click for Prims

Post by Koshari Mahana »

Hi, Thanks Ilan and Zed. The physics shape is showing blue and it's just a prim floor so it's not overly complex nor can I set a floor to phantom. It's linked exactly the same way as all of my other buildings so I don't know why the floor won't allow the click walk/teleport. I'm not going to worry about it though, I think it's not a big deal.
These users thanked the author Koshari Mahana for the post:
Chris Namaste
Image
VISIT FOUR WINDS ON THE MARKET
VISIT FOUR WINDS INWORLD: hop://grid.kitely.com:8002/Coopersville/909/907/21
Post Reply