Forums


Monitoring and optimizing your world's performance

Building using prims, sculpties and meshes. Texture creation techniques.

Monitoring and optimizing your world's performance

Postby Ilan Tochner » Sun Aug 16, 2015 8:51 pm

Kitely provides world owners with the freedom to create large worlds with many prims and complex scripts, but this freedom can come at the cost of performance. As a world owner it's important to make sure that your worlds perform well, because slow worlds cause a bad user experience: the world appears slowly around the user; animations are choppy; and moving in the world is frustrating because the avatar appears to jump from place to place instead of moving smoothly.

Today we added a new tool for monitoring an active world's performance. We also wrote a new guide for detecting and fixing world performance problems, and added an option to manually stop a running world.

Please see: https://www.kitely.com/virtual-world-news/2015/08/16/monitor-world-performance/

You can find the optimization guide here: https://kitely.atlassian.net/wiki/display/doc/Optimize+World+Performance
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
 
Posts: 4063
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has liked: 1793 times
Been liked: 2152 times

Re: Monitoring and optimizing your world's performance

Postby Graham Mills » Mon Aug 17, 2015 2:02 pm

Ilan Tochner wrote:... added an option to manually stop a running world.


Maybe worth pointing out that there is no "Are you sure?" OK/Cancel alert box in case you get bored during a meeting and just decide to press the button to see what happens... :roll:
Graham Mills
 
Posts: 950
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:26 pm
Has liked: 581 times
Been liked: 716 times

Re: Monitoring and optimizing your world's performance

Postby Ilan Tochner » Mon Aug 17, 2015 7:10 pm

Hi Graham,

We'll add a confirmation dialog for Stop World in the next site update.
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
 
Posts: 4063
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has liked: 1793 times
Been liked: 2152 times

Re: Monitoring and optimizing your world's performance

Postby Ilan Tochner » Tue Sep 29, 2015 3:04 pm

We added a confirmation dialog in today's update: https://www.kitely.com/virtual-world-news/2015/09/29/maintenance-release/
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
 
Posts: 4063
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has liked: 1793 times
Been liked: 2152 times

Re: Monitoring and optimizing your world's performance

Postby Ilan Tochner » Wed Aug 24, 2016 9:55 am

We added automatic world optimization to today's site update.

Learn more here: https://www.kitely.com/virtual-world-news/2016/08/24/automatic-world-optimization-and-other-improvements/
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
 
Posts: 4063
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has liked: 1793 times
Been liked: 2152 times

Re: Monitoring and optimizing your world's performance

Postby Freda Frostbite » Wed Aug 24, 2016 11:56 am

I received this by email but did not receive it inworld. Should it have come to me inworld? I shared the list with all the residents at Frostbite Thane. Once again, I note that most of the items on the list (possibly all) come from Clutterfly. Word to the wise: If you have Clutterfly objects, make them phantom.
User avatar
Freda Frostbite
 
Posts: 568
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 2:10 am
Location: Florida, space coast.
Has liked: 388 times
Been liked: 574 times

Re: Monitoring and optimizing your world's performance

Postby Ilan Tochner » Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:10 pm

Hi Freda,

This notice isn't sent inworld as big IMs (ones longer than 1024 characters) are split into multiple IMs and that could easily result in each such notice taking up many IM slots. If this happened then your IM inbox would quickly fill up and prevent you from receiving additional IMs until you went inworld to retrieve all the ones you have pending delivery.
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
 
Posts: 4063
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has liked: 1793 times
Been liked: 2152 times

Re: Monitoring and optimizing your world's performance

Postby David Denny » Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:53 pm

BE good for me to be able to Restart my Regions to keep them performing as the sim has got issues, I cant as it s says 'disabled'. Why is this??
User avatar
David Denny
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2017 7:38 pm
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 0 time

Re: Monitoring and optimizing your world's performance

Postby Ilan Tochner » Tue Jul 25, 2017 11:02 pm

Hi David,

You don't restart regions via the viewer in Kitely, you do so by using Stop World in the Active World panel that is displayed on your world's World Page when it is active. See the link in my previous comment for a screenshot of how that looks. You can get to your world's World Page by clicking its name in your My Worlds page (which you can see when you are logged into our website).
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
 
Posts: 4063
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has liked: 1793 times
Been liked: 2152 times


Return to Building and Texturing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron