3D Design Programs

Building using prims, sculpties and meshes. Texture creation techniques.
Donna Eason

3D Design Programs

Post by Donna Eason »

Can anyone suggest a good 3D design program for beginning and advance creating? Also, if you use a 3D Design program, can your creations be imported into Kitely?
Ilan Tochner

Re: 3D Design Programs

Post by Ilan Tochner »

Hi Donna,

Blender is a popular free option: http://www.blender.org/

You can import items created in Blender into Kitely.
Graham Mills

Post by Graham Mills »

Donna Eason wrote:Can anyone suggest a good 3D design program for beginning and advance creating? Also, if you use a 3D Design program, can your creations be imported into Kitely?
Hi Donna

I'm not an expert but I suspect it would help to know who it is intended for, what platform they use and how much they want to spend. You can import COLLADA DAE files into OpenSim much as in SL although you may need to simplify large meshes using something like MeshLab.

Simple packages might include Trimble Sketchup (free) or, simpler still, Archepelis. Daz Studio is a free high-end tool. But do wait for comments from mesh gurus -- I'm more of an inworld prim builder personally.
Keith Selmes

Post by Keith Selmes »

I haven't done much with these tools, but I would add Wings 3D to the options and list them in order of difficulty, easiest first, as

Sketchup
Wings3D
Blender

So long as the output file from the program is Collada (.dae) you can import them with Firestorm or similar viewer, pretty much as Graham said.

In practice, I've had a mixed experience importing files for mesh in Firestorm, mainly with models I've downloaded from websites.
There are plenty of ready made models available, though not always in the right format, and sometimes with peculiar scaling issues.