Physics

Building using prims, sculpties and meshes. Texture creation techniques.
Gwyddion Oakley

Physics

Post by Gwyddion Oakley »

Thanks to Ozwell Wayfarer for the brilliant article on general uploading.

I am doing some testing specifically on physics and the different engines so wanted to share the results here. I can only share my own techniques, I am sure there are others, better than mine, but I am self taught, by trial and error, so this is the way I have found works. I will make a few posts as I test the uploads, but firstly, here is a post on the original model. I am using this bridge model, as it is pretty simple and cheap to upload, but also has very specific physics. An avatar needs to walk over the bridge, without falling through, also under the bridge without it being blocked, and finally the railings need to stop the avatar falling off the sides.

1. Modelling in Blender

Firstly I made the model in blender, I wont go into all the techniques for that, as there are hundreds of tutorials on modelling on youtube and elsewhere. But basically I tried to keep verticies low, but also give enough to create the soft moulded shape of the wood, smoothed by years of use, and the smoothed edges of the stone.

I added a single light source where the sun might be.

Now for the physics. It is important I have found, to keep the physics mesh and the model mesh in the same spot,in blender space, there are workarounds if you can't, but they are messy, so best option, build two meshes one on top of the other, the same size.

This image shows just the physics mesh shape, and you can see it is super low poly, only using just enough mesh to describe the shape of the physics.

Add texture faces, and bake as you would normally do, on the bridge model. The physics model does not need a texture face.

So to uploading.

PLEASE NOTE, AS THIS SEEMS TO BE IMPORTANT, I AM UPLOADING THIS MESH ON A SIM WITH ubODE PHYSICS ENABLED.