Why so restricted?

Creating scripts
Lilmix Pixelmaid
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Why so restricted?

Post by Lilmix Pixelmaid »

Firstly apologies for the bit of a rant for my first post here.
Secondly, Kitely seems to have an amazing community and staff that work hard to upkeep the grid. This is in no way a personal grudge against anyone or trying to claim I know better than anyone else.
I'd just like to know why some of the decisions were made regarding the supported OSSL functions.
I would also like to mention that this is in reply to this post regarding the supported OSSLfunctions.
https://www.kitely.com/virtual-world-ne ... functions/

Why are both
osGetAgents()
osGetAvatarList()
so restricted?

I'm only new to kitely and OpenSim in general but I was hoping to get into a little bit of scripting since I got here. I enjoy scripting for others to make their worlds and homes more they way they want since a few people I have met on Kitely have limited skills and know what they want but not how to get there.
All I seem to be doing is running into issues where I have no permission to run an OSSL function or even issues where because I created the script and I don't have permissions to use the OSSL functions, the the world owner can't use my scripts!!
I just want to make scripts that benefit others and at the moment I can't see any way to do that. Well unless I hand them out like candy so that every world can look and act the same because none of them can use mine, or anyone else's scripts exclusively.
All I want is a legitimate reason for why the restrictions are so strict and varied? If a world owner has given me permission to run scripts and create items on a parcel in their world, why is there so many things I can't do?
All I wanted to do was detect who is in the region with a single function...