Asset UUIDs and other grids

Creating scripts
Handy Low

Asset UUIDs and other grids

Post by Handy Low »

Hi, I'm new to Kitely, but I have a scripting business in SL (Handy's Tools) and I'm tentatively dipping my toes into selling in Kitely too.

My question is this. Some of my products include selections of textures, which are set in the scripts by hard-coding the UUIDs of the textures. Obviously, for these to work on the Kitely grid I have to modify the code with the new UUIDs the textures have - I'm not aware of any way of reusing the SL UUIDs.

But what about if someone buys a product like that for another grid? The textures aren't even going to exist on the target grid's asset server, still less have the same UUIDs (I presume?). Has anyone found an approach that would make this possible without distributing the texture files themselves?
Handy Low
Constance Peregrine

Re: Asset UUIDs and other grids

Post by Constance Peregrine »

just wanted to say, Welcome-))
These users thanked the author Constance Peregrine for the post:
Handy Low
Laissez faire et laissez passer, le monde va de lui même!
My little sounds store https://www.kitely.com/market?store=2040306

Ephemeral wanderer...
Handy Low

Post by Handy Low »

Minethere Always wrote:just wanted to say, Welcome-))
Thank you!
These users thanked the author Handy Low for the post:
Constance Peregrine
Handy Low
Handy Low

Post by Handy Low »

Somehow I missed this thread:

http://www.kitely.com/forums/viewtopic. ... 9&start=10

where Oren says "it's perfectly valid to refer to assets from scripts by referring to inventory items. And that's better than hard-coding UUID's, because UUID's will not work if the item is Exported to another grid, but references to inventory items will continue to work."

So essentially, most of my scripts won't work on other grids because of that, unless there's some mechanism for customers to transfer assets between grids while retaining their UUIDs.
Handy Low
Constance Peregrine