Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Post requests for goods or services
User avatar
Adagio Greenwood
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:57 pm
Has thanked: 165 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Post by Adagio Greenwood » Sun Feb 17, 2013 5:43 pm

I just posted here about the really cool sim-surround sculptmap I got from pIRA Technologies in SL this morning. One of the things she included in the package is a 768 x 768 mega-prim and I would love to see a sculpt of that. I was pretty certain though that no way was I going to be able to export that (SL being the beast that it has been with exports) and, anyway, where on earth (well, where in SL) would I rezz something that size to even take a look at it?

I made a 256 x 256 version of it and posted a pic on the other thread. Does anybody have any prims bigger than 256 x 256?

Adagio
Dot Macchi
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 12:15 pm
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Post by Dot Macchi » Sun Feb 17, 2013 7:13 pm

I have created and imported via OARs from outside builds some very large megaprims (e.g. 1024x1024x0.5). However, if resized in Firestorm, they twang back to 64 x 64.

To be able to create them in the first place you need to tweak a setting in OpenSim.ini.

I could try to make the right size of megaprim and import it. I can't guarantee that it won't go back to default though.
User avatar
Adagio Greenwood
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:57 pm
Has thanked: 165 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Post by Adagio Greenwood » Sun Feb 17, 2013 9:54 pm

Thanks, Dot; if you have the odd moment (!) and think to do it, that would be lovely. :) I know better than to try to resize mega-prims, lol, and it is certainly no emergency. I am just thinking ahead to the possibility of having "sky worlds" with normal looking terrain. :D

Adagio
Dot Macchi
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 12:15 pm
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Post by Dot Macchi » Sun Feb 17, 2013 10:45 pm

What's the exact size you need?
User avatar
Adagio Greenwood
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:57 pm
Has thanked: 165 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Post by Adagio Greenwood » Mon Feb 18, 2013 12:46 am

Well, with something bigger than 256 x 256 I could surround one of my single sims and anything bigger than 512 x 512 would surround my 2 x 2s. Between 100 and 150 high; I settled on 125 for the one I made, anything higher looked a bit odd. It isn't something I can say I need; I just wanted to try playing with "aerial sims". :) Thanks for anything you can do.

Adagio
User avatar
Bladyblue Bommerang
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 3:42 am
Has thanked: 200 times
Been thanked: 111 times
Contact:

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Post by Bladyblue Bommerang » Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:09 am

Dot Macchi wrote:What's the exact size you need?
Dot, we need some megaprims for the Kitely Plaza build please. We are starting the center boardwalk now. Its the length of four regions. Any megaprims you have available would be great.
Image
Ohn Lang
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 5:11 pm
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Post by Ohn Lang » Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:24 am

You should be able to make your own megaprims (256 or less, sorry) with this:

Code: Select all

float xlength = 256.0;
float ylength = 93.5;
float zlength = .25;

default
{
    state_entry()
    {
        llSay(0, "Script running");
    }
    touch_start(integer param) {
        osSetPrimitiveParams(llGetKey(), [PRIM_SIZE, <xlength, ylength, zlength>]);   
    }
}
Just pop it in a prim, change the x/y/z values, save script, then touch prim. The delete the script.
Last edited by Ohn Lang on Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
These users thanked the author Ohn Lang for the post (total 2):
Bladyblue BommerangJon Nielsen
Ohn Lang
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 5:11 pm
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Post by Ohn Lang » Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:31 am

snap. that doesn't work bigger than 256, as i'm sure you guys probably already knew :oops:
User avatar
Adagio Greenwood
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:57 pm
Has thanked: 165 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Post by Adagio Greenwood » Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:04 pm

Dot made me some mega-prims at 512 x 512 x 125, thanks, Dot!!! Here are two pics of two of them at my Owl Valley sim:
Attachments
512 Sim-Surrounds at Owl Valley_001.jpg
512 Sim-Surrounds at Owl Valley_002_001.jpg
These users thanked the author Adagio Greenwood for the post:
Constance Peregrine
User avatar
Constance Peregrine
Posts: 2323
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:35 am
Has thanked: 2764 times
Been thanked: 1422 times

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Post by Constance Peregrine » Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:23 pm

there isn't any need for scripts for less than 256x anyways, or did i miss the memo???? I make them anytime I wish, don't I???????
These users thanked the author Constance Peregrine for the post:
Mike Lorrey
Laissez faire et laissez passer, le monde va de lui même!
My little sounds store https://www.kitely.com/market?store=2040306

Ephemeral wanderer...
Post Reply