Page 1 of 2

Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 5:43 pm
by Adagio Greenwood
I just posted here about the really cool sim-surround sculptmap I got from pIRA Technologies in SL this morning. One of the things she included in the package is a 768 x 768 mega-prim and I would love to see a sculpt of that. I was pretty certain though that no way was I going to be able to export that (SL being the beast that it has been with exports) and, anyway, where on earth (well, where in SL) would I rezz something that size to even take a look at it?

I made a 256 x 256 version of it and posted a pic on the other thread. Does anybody have any prims bigger than 256 x 256?

Adagio

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 7:13 pm
by Dot Macchi
I have created and imported via OARs from outside builds some very large megaprims (e.g. 1024x1024x0.5). However, if resized in Firestorm, they twang back to 64 x 64.

To be able to create them in the first place you need to tweak a setting in OpenSim.ini.

I could try to make the right size of megaprim and import it. I can't guarantee that it won't go back to default though.

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 9:54 pm
by Adagio Greenwood
Thanks, Dot; if you have the odd moment (!) and think to do it, that would be lovely. :) I know better than to try to resize mega-prims, lol, and it is certainly no emergency. I am just thinking ahead to the possibility of having "sky worlds" with normal looking terrain. :D

Adagio

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 10:45 pm
by Dot Macchi
What's the exact size you need?

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 12:46 am
by Adagio Greenwood
Well, with something bigger than 256 x 256 I could surround one of my single sims and anything bigger than 512 x 512 would surround my 2 x 2s. Between 100 and 150 high; I settled on 125 for the one I made, anything higher looked a bit odd. It isn't something I can say I need; I just wanted to try playing with "aerial sims". :) Thanks for anything you can do.

Adagio

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:09 am
by Bladyblue Bommerang
Dot Macchi wrote:What's the exact size you need?
Dot, we need some megaprims for the Kitely Plaza build please. We are starting the center boardwalk now. Its the length of four regions. Any megaprims you have available would be great.

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:24 am
by Ohn Lang
You should be able to make your own megaprims (256 or less, sorry) with this:

Code: Select all

float xlength = 256.0;
float ylength = 93.5;
float zlength = .25;

default
{
    state_entry()
    {
        llSay(0, "Script running");
    }
    touch_start(integer param) {
        osSetPrimitiveParams(llGetKey(), [PRIM_SIZE, <xlength, ylength, zlength>]);   
    }
}
Just pop it in a prim, change the x/y/z values, save script, then touch prim. The delete the script.

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:31 am
by Ohn Lang
snap. that doesn't work bigger than 256, as i'm sure you guys probably already knew :oops:

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:04 pm
by Adagio Greenwood
Dot made me some mega-prims at 512 x 512 x 125, thanks, Dot!!! Here are two pics of two of them at my Owl Valley sim:

Re: Wanted: Does anybody have mega-prims?

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:23 pm
by Constance Peregrine
there isn't any need for scripts for less than 256x anyways, or did i miss the memo???? I make them anytime I wish, don't I???????