Forums


Trouble with physics on BallerNation grid

Support for buying and delivering products from Kitely Market to non-Kitely grids

Re: Trouble with physics on BallerNation grid

Postby Ilan Tochner » Wed Jun 08, 2016 7:13 pm

Hi beverly,

If you're defining a collision mesh please make sure it is an optimized one with a significantly lower triangle count than the mesh you use for the item itself. This will reduce the load the item creates on the physics engine and will significantly improve the time it takes for worlds containing your items to start up.
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has liked: 1904 times
Been liked: 2195 times

Re: Trouble with physics on BallerNation grid

Postby beverly Zauberflote » Wed Jun 08, 2016 7:16 pm

Thanks Ilan, will do! I am aware of the issues and have created them before. It will just be planes mostly. very very simple. BUT having read Gahelens' comments on using a physics model in another thread I am disheartened somewhat as it didn't solve the problem.....

AND hearing that 9.0 will have other issues like sit targets not working...well it is very overwhelming to say the least.....
User avatar
beverly Zauberflote
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 6:53 pm
Has liked: 93 times
Been liked: 45 times

Re: Trouble with physics on BallerNation grid

Postby Ilan Tochner » Wed Jun 08, 2016 7:32 pm

That is part of the reason why we're not rushing to upgrade to OpenSim 0.9.0, it simply isn't ready yet. I think it is unfortunate that some people already rolled it out on their grids without considering that the version they've decided to use is not an actual OpenSim release. The only grids that should be rolling out unreleased OpenSim versions are grids such as OSGrid which have testing OpenSim development branches as part of their mission statement.
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has liked: 1904 times
Been liked: 2195 times

Re: Trouble with physics on BallerNation grid

Postby Constance Peregrine » Thu Jun 09, 2016 12:15 pm

Here is some information about OS v.9 that seems like some of it may be relevant to this discussion, from Aine, who knows much about it, I hope it helps.

http://ainetutorials.blogspot.com/search?q=sit+target
Laissez faire et laissez passer, le monde va de lui même!
My little sounds store https://www.kitely.com/market?store=2040306

Ephemeral wanderer...
User avatar
Constance Peregrine
 
Posts: 2309
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:35 am
Has liked: 2762 times
Been liked: 1400 times

Re: Trouble with physics on BallerNation grid

Postby Dot Matrix » Thu Jun 09, 2016 12:52 pm

Is it this article in particular, Constance?

Paramour Product Support for Opensim 0.9 (Aine says there won't be any -- stick to OpenSim 0.8.2)
User avatar
Dot Matrix
 
Posts: 1424
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 3:26 am
Has liked: 962 times
Been liked: 1923 times

Re: Trouble with physics on BallerNation grid

Postby Constance Peregrine » Thu Jun 09, 2016 6:41 pm

Dot Matrix wrote:Is it this article in particular, Constance?

Paramour Product Support for Opensim 0.9 (Aine says there won't be any -- stick to OpenSim 0.8.2)


Yes, that looks like it...I didn't look closely but one or two others seemed to have info but it may just have been repeated.
Laissez faire et laissez passer, le monde va de lui même!
My little sounds store https://www.kitely.com/market?store=2040306

Ephemeral wanderer...
User avatar
Constance Peregrine
 
Posts: 2309
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:35 am
Has liked: 2762 times
Been liked: 1400 times

Re: Trouble with physics on BallerNation grid

Postby beverly Zauberflote » Sat Sep 03, 2016 5:09 pm

I have a bit more information from a friend of mine who used to support another grid. He tells me if the version of 9.0 loaded has UBODE physics, then there WILL be issues with mesh physics. If Bullet is used it should work fine. HE is of the opinion that most grids will opt for UBODE and so the mesh model will have to be uploaded on a sim with UBODE enabled in order to work properly. He has offered to let me use his grid for testing purposes. I will be testing:
1. Does the model work when uploaded using UBODE physics.
2. Does that same model work with Bullet physics.
3. Is that same model backward compatible.

I am hoping the answer to all those questions will be yes. If not, multiple versions of a model might have to be created/reuploaded to support all of the scenarios....blegh....

I will post my findings here if anyone is interested :)
User avatar
beverly Zauberflote
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 6:53 pm
Has liked: 93 times
Been liked: 45 times

Re: Trouble with physics on BallerNation grid

Postby Ilan Tochner » Sat Sep 03, 2016 5:17 pm

Thank you beverly, please update us about your findings.
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has liked: 1904 times
Been liked: 2195 times

Re: Trouble with physics on BallerNation grid

Postby Mike Lorrey » Tue Jan 03, 2017 1:25 am

here's an idea: can you upload the mesh in a 0.9 grid, bring it to Kitely, and sell it as an export item through the Kitely Marketplace that will remain 0.9 compatible? I imagine you will need an avatar native to a 0.9 grid to upload it, then transfer it to your kitely avatar there in that grid fully permed, then bring it to Kitely, perm it, and sell it on Marketplace.
User avatar
Mike Lorrey
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 5:40 pm
Has liked: 56 times
Been liked: 122 times

Re: Trouble with physics on BallerNation grid

Postby Ilan Tochner » Tue Jan 03, 2017 2:13 am

Hi Mike,

These are good questions that I don't know the answer to. If someone tested this then please let us know the result.
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has liked: 1904 times
Been liked: 2195 times

PreviousNext

Return to Using Kitely Market with Other Grids

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest