Sculptie physics in imported OARs

Ask questions about creating worlds, using worlds, etc.
Dot Macchi

Sculptie physics in imported OARs

Post by Dot Macchi »

Some of the Devokan builds are quite old, predating mesh. Many use items from a kit of sculpts with the physics set to the shape of the prim.

These seem to work OK in OSgrid, but when the same OAR is imported into Kitely, the physics shape changes to what I guess is a sphere. This makes it impossible to use walkways or enter buildings.

Now, I am not a builder, more a custodian of environments developed by others who have moved on. I would like to keep these areas working as they should

So I'd welcome advice on how to deal with this. Thanks.
Graham Mills

Re: Sculptie physics in imported OARs

Post by Graham Mills »

I'm a novice in such matters but you could make the sculptie phantom and mark the key boundaries with an invisiprim. Potentially a lot of work...
Dot Macchi

Post by Dot Macchi »

Yes, it would definitely be a lot of work -- potentially 10+ regions-worth.

For one thing, it's not always easy to work out which prim is causing a problem. For example, I suspect that some of the larger "physics spheres" overlap smaller ones, meaning that even if you make the smaller sculpties phantom, you still can't access the area.

Now, having said all that, something strange has happened... I can now access all the buildings and rock structures of Yugen (part of Skysong in Kitely, and of Devokan Tao in OSgrid, hence the comparison), whereas before my avie got deflected quite a distance away from the base of the towers, for instance.

I'll investigate the other regions.
Dot Macchi

Post by Dot Macchi »

I had a thought overnight: whether there is a difference between standard single-region OARs and multi-region OARs saved with the --all option.

To demonstrate what I mean, I've made a 2x2 test megaregion temporarily public:
Devokan Regions TEST