Uploading Raw Terrain Files?

Ask questions about creating worlds, using worlds, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
Tadhg Muirin
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:37 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 6 times

Uploading Raw Terrain Files?

Post by Tadhg Muirin » Thu Jun 01, 2017 4:37 pm

New to region ownership in Kitely so, not sure how to upload a Raw terrain file to my region.
Tried using the Estate Parcel menu inworld-- since the "World Manage" webpage only offered to upload OARS-- but the Raw file did not load to the region.
What to do?
User avatar
Constance Peregrine
Posts: 2323
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:35 am
Has thanked: 2764 times
Been thanked: 1422 times

Re: Uploading Raw Terrain Files?

Post by Constance Peregrine » Thu Jun 01, 2017 5:11 pm

Tadhg Muirin wrote:New to region ownership in Kitely so, not sure how to upload a Raw terrain file to my region.
Tried using the Estate Parcel menu inworld-- since the "World Manage" webpage only offered to upload OARS-- but the Raw file did not load to the region.
What to do?
Hi Tadhg,

Is the raw the same size as the world you are loading it into?
Laissez faire et laissez passer, le monde va de lui même!
My little sounds store https://www.kitely.com/market?store=2040306

Ephemeral wanderer...
User avatar
Tadhg Muirin
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:37 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Uploading Raw Terrain Files?

Post by Tadhg Muirin » Thu Jun 01, 2017 5:47 pm

yes, it is a 256x256 raw terrain file for a standard region in kitely
These users thanked the author Tadhg Muirin for the post:
Constance Peregrine
Graham Mills
Posts: 999
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:26 pm
Has thanked: 610 times
Been thanked: 758 times

Re: Uploading Raw Terrain Files?

Post by Graham Mills » Thu Jun 01, 2017 6:01 pm

Using Alchemy, it's on the World menu, select Region/Estate, then the Terrain tab and Upload RAW terrain... button. And wait patiently :)
User avatar
Tadhg Muirin
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:37 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Uploading Raw Terrain Files?

Post by Tadhg Muirin » Thu Jun 01, 2017 6:08 pm

Graham Mills wrote:Using Alchemy, it's on the World menu, select Region/Estate, then the Terrain tab and Upload RAW terrain... button. And wait patiently :)
i used FireStorm and did exactly that and for an hour it hasn't loaded. terrain remains flat. :(
Graham Mills
Posts: 999
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:26 pm
Has thanked: 610 times
Been thanked: 758 times

Re: Uploading Raw Terrain Files?

Post by Graham Mills » Thu Jun 01, 2017 6:20 pm

Can't comment on FS but Alchemy was fine yesterday. Being impatient and trying to upload again resulted in a viewer error message to the effect that somebody else was mid-upload. Do you get that?

PS: will try FS later.
Graham Mills
Posts: 999
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:26 pm
Has thanked: 610 times
Been thanked: 758 times

Re: Uploading Raw Terrain Files?

Post by Graham Mills » Thu Jun 01, 2017 7:19 pm

OK, I just tried FS 4.7.9 on Win 10 with http://5.9.108.75/terrains/sim1d_011.raw (credits: Magnuz Binder) and it worked fine. Might be worth trying that file in case there are any issues with yours.
User avatar
Tadhg Muirin
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:37 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Uploading Raw Terrain Files?

Post by Tadhg Muirin » Thu Jun 01, 2017 7:21 pm

GOOD NEWS, EVERYONE! :D

Switched viewer to Singularity and uploaded RAW file and PRESTO!!! :shock:

My region is terraformed. :lol:

Thank goodness, cos I couldn't terraform my way out of a paper bag with a pair of scissors........ :o

No, not kidding. :roll:
These users thanked the author Tadhg Muirin for the post (total 5):
Graham MillsIlan TochnerDot MatrixConstance PeregrineMoonrise Azalee
User avatar
Moonrise Azalee
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 7:14 am
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 126 times

Re: Uploading Raw Terrain Files?

Post by Moonrise Azalee » Sun Jun 11, 2017 6:25 pm

Awesome! Congrats on your new Kitely region :)
Post Reply