Prim Disappearance

Ask questions about creating worlds, using worlds, etc.
User avatar
TheMad Tadder
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2017 2:27 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Prim Disappearance

Post by TheMad Tadder » Sat Jun 24, 2017 2:42 pm

I have a "Starter World" with 15k prim allotment with the Evergreen OAR on it. I'm building a house and have placed a few items on the sim totaling usage of 1859 prims (including OAR prims). I have very few scripts running and they're all pretty low lag-- buoys and some animals-- but I haven't even installed doors on my house. Yet, parts of my house keep disappearing from my view. I know the prims are there as I've taken objects into edit, but my viewer is not rendering them. I've cleared my viewer cache twice and relogged, but when I log in again, as things begin to rez I see them as they have been built, then suddenly they begin disappearing-- each relog has had different prims just become invisible (not texture-wise, there's no alpha in them). These are simple prims (not sculpts or mesh) of walls to my house, foundation, roof, etc. I've cammed out really far and back in again and they don't reappear-- a trick I learned in other worlds. I'd be grateful if anyone could tell me what is making this suddenly happen and how can it be corrected? Many thanks in advance~~~*
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
Posts: 4869
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has thanked: 2589 times
Been thanked: 2626 times
Contact:

Re: Prim Disappearance

Post by Ilan Tochner » Sat Jun 24, 2017 5:23 pm

Hi TheMad Tadder,

Have you cleared both your viewer cache AND viewer inventory cache?

What viewer are you using (and what version)? Have you tried this with a different viewer as well?

Have you tried changing your graphics settings to see if that changes anything?
User avatar
TheMad Tadder
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2017 2:27 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Prim Disappearance

Post by TheMad Tadder » Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:07 pm

Have you cleared both your viewer cache AND viewer inventory cache?
yes.
What viewer are you using (and what version)?
Singularity Viewer (64 bit) 1.8.7 (6861) Jun 16 2016
have been using this since i created my account with no problems until just this morning.
Have you tried this with a different viewer as well?
yes, FireStorm 5.01.52150
and all the prims do rez and appear normally.
Have you tried changing your graphics settings to see if that changes anything?
yes, and it did not change the prim disappearance problem with Singularity viewer.


also, altho it may not matter, none of the prims are linked... i mention this because i've seen a viewer rendering problem in the past with that problem.

i think i may have to uninstall singularity and reinstall. my guess now is there may be some files amiss in the programme itself suddenly. (stuff happens, ya know?)

anyway, Singularity is my favourite building viewer, so i'd like to continue using it.

thank you for your response, Ilan. :)
These users thanked the author TheMad Tadder for the post:
Ilan Tochner
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
Posts: 4869
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has thanked: 2589 times
Been thanked: 2626 times
Contact:

Re: Prim Disappearance

Post by Ilan Tochner » Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:20 pm

Please keep us updated.
Gaudin Himmel
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:43 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Prim Disappearance

Post by Gaudin Himmel » Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:42 pm

I started having the same problem about a week ago, so far it seems to be in a single location on the sim, when I move the disappearing prim over a bit it reappears, also if viewed from different angles and distances it will appear or disappear. It doesn't seem to matter if it's linked or not and doesn't affect the prim it's linked to. I am using the latest FS and am building on a 2x2
User avatar
TheMad Tadder
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2017 2:27 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Prim Disappearance

Post by TheMad Tadder » Sat Jun 24, 2017 8:23 pm

I started having the same problem about a week ago, so far it seems to be in a single location on the sim, when I move the disappearing prim over a bit it reappears, also if viewed from different angles and distances it will appear or disappear. It doesn't seem to matter if it's linked or not and doesn't affect the prim it's linked to. I am using the latest FS and am building on a 2x2
interesting, gaudin. i'll try moving the prims to see if they appear and STAY there. if not, i may uninstall/reinstall my singularity anyway.

and thanks for letting me know i'm not alone in this strangeness. (misery loves company... LOL)

cheers!
User avatar
TheMad Tadder
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2017 2:27 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Prim Disappearance

Post by TheMad Tadder » Sun Jun 25, 2017 4:50 am

when I move the disappearing prim over a bit it reappears
ok, tried this and altho i can grab them (while invisible, oddly) and move them, they do not reappear. i can only see the highlighted outline of them.

so, uninstalling Singularity and reinstalling tomorrow.

will post here what my results are once i know.
User avatar
TheMad Tadder
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2017 2:27 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Prim Disappearance

Post by TheMad Tadder » Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:10 pm

UNHAPPY FOLLOW UP:

well, sad to report that i've uninstalled singularity and deleted all files associated with that viewer, installed a new copy from the website and i still have the prim disappearance problem. :(
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
Posts: 4869
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has thanked: 2589 times
Been thanked: 2626 times
Contact:

Re: Prim Disappearance

Post by Ilan Tochner » Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:43 pm

Did you delete the files in all the relevant AppData folders as well? (they aren't removed when you uninstall the viewer)
Gaudin Himmel
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:43 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Prim Disappearance

Post by Gaudin Himmel » Sun Jun 25, 2017 8:54 pm

I copied the original linkset, deleted the old one and placed the copy in the old location. It seems to be OK now but we'll see what happens with time
Post Reply