Earthquake!

Ask questions about creating worlds, using worlds, etc.
Post Reply
Lynne Hand
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 11:08 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Earthquake!

Post by Lynne Hand » Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:22 am

Has anyone else experienced an earthquake in world? I wasn't sure if it was just me, but now I've seen it happen to another avatar and to an NPC on the LEN campus. It seems to be triggered by sitting and standing from time to time, the avatar starts jumping up and down and moving with no control. The only way to stop it is to sit quickly or start flying. It just happened to a student of mine, who luckily isn't a newbie, but was still somewhat disconcerted and is now convinced her character has a death wish. :cry:

When it happened to the NPC at the LEN campus a student and I had to watch as the poor guy ended up jumping off a cliff and into the sea. I looked for him, but I think he drowned. When we relogged in later, he was back and miraculously dry. :(

Any ideas :idea: as to what is happening, and most importantly how to stop it? :?:
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
Posts: 4945
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has thanked: 2693 times
Been thanked: 2698 times
Contact:

Re: Earthquake!

Post by Ilan Tochner » Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:32 am

Hi Lynne,

This is a known OpenSim problem that sometimes occurs with ODE physics. We hope this problem will be eliminated once Intel finishes developing the BulletSim physics engine which will replace ODE.
Lynne Hand
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 11:08 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Earthquake!

Post by Lynne Hand » Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:06 pm

Ah okay. As long as it's not me pressing the wrong buttons. Thanks. :)
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
Posts: 4945
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has thanked: 2693 times
Been thanked: 2698 times
Contact:

Re: Earthquake!

Post by Ilan Tochner » Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:36 pm

You're welcome Lynne, please let us know if you have any further questions.
User avatar
Constance Peregrine
Posts: 2325
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:35 am
Has thanked: 2765 times
Been thanked: 1424 times

Re: Earthquake!

Post by Constance Peregrine » Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:37 pm

Actually had what we were sure was an earthquake in a region i managed once....cracked the prims across a jagged line over half the region..took forever to fix it all

...course, that was the inworldz grid....lol
Laissez faire et laissez passer, le monde va de lui même!
My little sounds store https://www.kitely.com/market?store=2040306

Ephemeral wanderer...
Ohn Lang
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 5:11 pm
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Earthquake!

Post by Ohn Lang » Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:26 am

how cool would that be! /me starts thinking about how to make earthquake.
User avatar
Your Teacher
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 8:52 am
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 17 times
Contact:

Re: Earthquake!

Post by Your Teacher » Fri Jan 18, 2013 10:24 am

Hey guys! This wasn't a suggestion! ;)

I know you can do it in SL, as on their version of the Grand Canyon I lost all my students to an avalanche once. It was a tragic day for us all. :cry:
User avatar
Constance Peregrine
Posts: 2325
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:35 am
Has thanked: 2765 times
Been thanked: 1424 times

Re: Earthquake!

Post by Constance Peregrine » Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:24 pm

Ohn Lang wrote:how cool would that be! /me starts thinking about how to make earthquake.
ours was due to one of the weird bugs inwz had [and still has] due to all the --changes-- they do to the base code there-))

but an earthquake done on purpose would be interesting-))
Laissez faire et laissez passer, le monde va de lui même!
My little sounds store https://www.kitely.com/market?store=2040306

Ephemeral wanderer...
Post Reply