A Plea to Firestorm from OpenSim

Ask questions about using viewers to enter worlds, and problems with viewers
Bladyblue Bommerang

A Plea to Firestorm from OpenSim

Post by Bladyblue Bommerang »

I have been going crazy trying to explain to Second Lifers that their version of Firestorm isn't that easy to use in OpenSim. They have to install an older version to access Kitely. They aren't really happy with that. It's easier to get them to install a new viewer than to mess with their precious Firestorm.

I placed a plea on SLUniverse ( http://www.sluniverse.com/php/vb/altern ... ost1721340)asking Firestorm Developers to make a new OpenSim viewer and name it differently so people can distinguish which viewer they are using. Firestorm is one of the best viewers to use because it supports mesh and is very stable.

Here is what I wrote on SLU:
"I'm no techie, but Firestorm is useful to opensim worlds like Kitely because it supports mesh. The issue is that the newest versions of Firestorm do not easily support plug-ins for other worlds. And most novices don't know how to go get an older version of Firestorm and manually install the plug-in.

Please create a viewer that has the directory for opensim in it and name it slightly differently than Firestorm. Please use a new icon for the opensim version of your viewer(so people don't get confused as to which viewer they need to use).

Thank you."

Please take some time to add your thoughts to that thread over at SLUniverse. If the Firestorm Developers see people really want this product, they may get it to us.
http://www.sluniverse.com/php/vb/altern ... ost1721340

I also added this post to the GooglePlus Group Board OpenSim: https://plus.google.com/u/0/10424369342 ... HWsAf1bekg
These users thanked the author Bladyblue Bommerang for the post:
Ilan Tochner
Ilan Tochner

Re: A Plea to Firestorm from OpenSim

Post by Ilan Tochner »

Thank you Blady,