Page 4 of 5

Re: Loading World Issue

Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 5:19 pm
by Ilan Tochner
Are you using a VPN on your computer to connect to an organization's network or connecting through an organization's network directly? It sounds as if your connections are being filtered, which can happen if you're connecting from an organization that has not configured its firewall to allow access to our service.

Re: Loading World Issue

Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 5:23 pm
by Donna Yager
No this is a personal computer. I had no issues up until about 2 weeks ago when the connection was getting intermittent and now just not at all. Same computer, nothing different that I have installed nor updated, nor changed.

Re: Loading World Issue

Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 6:50 pm
by Ilan Tochner
I suggest turning off other devices connected to this network then restarting your router to eliminate them as possible causes for this problem.

Re: Loading World Issue

Posted: Fri Mar 29, 2019 4:26 am
by Ometeotl Mikoyan
Just some thoughts, have you ran a speedtest on your connection? https://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/ is free. Have you checked running processes on your pc? You can right click your taskbar and choose "Task Manager", or "Start > Task Manager" depending on which version you run. I usually go to search and type in task manager. I've personally had huge issue with game managers gobbling up all the resources and not allowing anything to load and freezing up running programs. I suppose other programs could do that while updating. Also if you're a heavy user of a virtual world browser, ie, builder, frequent flyer :P, or just do lots of stuff, your cache can be full and make you start having huge issues starting up. As a habit now I clean my network cache when I log every time, life is much nicer :)

Re: Loading World Issue

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 4:50 am
by Jaz Beverly
I have been having the same Loading World Issue that Natalie described. Once in a while I get lucky and make it in, but then I'm locked out again the next time I try to enter Kitely. Almost everything loads, and sometimes I get sound from my destination, and my Kitely dashboard reports that I am logged in, but on my screen it still says "Loading Worlds" and is stuck on the loading bar.

System
My system is an Intel i7-6700 CPU @ 3.4GHZ with 16GB RAM running Windows 10 Home version 1803, OS build 17134.829.

Connection Speed
https://www.speedtest.net reports that my connection is PING 6ms, Download 94.66 Mbps, Upload 76.14 Mbps. https://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/ reported Download 94.8Mbps and upload 73.7Mbps.

I also ran a speed test specifically on access to Amazon cloud servers using https://cloudharmony.com/speedtest-for-aws, since I understand that is where Kitely is hosted, and got these results - https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Vq7sVo ... sp=sharing

Troubleshooting
Appreciating all of the advice already posted in this thread, I have
- made sure I have the latest version of Firestorm x64 for OpenSim
- made sure I have the latest version of Alchemy and tried that viewer as well
- cleared my browser and inventory caches before login
- checked to make sure my firewall wasn't blocking access (at both system and antivirus software levels)

When having trouble logging in, I have always restarted browser (trying both Firestorm and Alchemy with cleared caches) and made my destination the Kitely Welcome Center. But even doing all of that, I'm still often having problems. I get in here and there, but am blocked more often than I am successful.

Would appreciate any other troubleshooting suggestions! :)

Jaz

Re: Loading World Issue

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:30 am
by Ilan Tochner
Hi Jaz,

Is your computer running on a corporate / organization network? Those often have Firewalls installed at the network level. If that's the case, that too needs to have the Firewall ports configured as per: https://kitely.atlassian.net/wiki/space ... ual+Worlds

Re: Loading World Issue

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 8:08 am
by Jaz Beverly
No, the place I have the most trouble logging in is at home, and that's just a straight PC, no network.

That is what I find so puzzling. Though the speed isn't as good at work (shared network with a lot of load), I can get in more easily there. At home it is hit or miss and the only two firewalls that should be getting in my way I've made sure allow both Firestorm and Alchemy.

Was a bit relieved to see on the Forums that I'm not the only one with this issue -- probably a solution out there if a known issue.

Jaz

Re: Loading World Issue

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 9:39 am
by Ilan Tochner
Does the issue improve if you try to connect with the same computer via a different network outside work? For example by taking your computer to a starbucks?

How is your computer connected to your home network? Wirelessly (WiFi) or via a wired connection (Ethernet)?

Re: Loading World Issue

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 7:19 am
by Amoriana Douglas
Hi all,
It sounds very similar to my experience with using my phone wi-fi for my sole internet provider. I'm doing fairly well running Firestorm on 2G speeds but it does take longer to load my world and I crash regularly. And bandwidth fluctuates from moment to moment seems like so I can't really say when might be the best times to log in and do what you wanted to do.
Just my thoughts,
Amori

Re: Loading World Issue

Posted: Tue Jul 02, 2019 3:18 pm
by Jaz Beverly
I'm using a desktop (Intel i7-6700 CPU @ 3.4GHZ with 16GB RAM running Windows 10 Home version 1803, OS build 17134.829) that is connected via ethernet to a high speed "copper to the home" connection. That is where I did the speed test mentioned in my original post, and that connection speed is pretty consistent.