Teleport issues to Great Canadian Grid (GCG)

Ask technical support questions about other topics
User avatar
Mathilda Stark
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 8:25 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Teleport issues to Great Canadian Grid (GCG)

Post by Mathilda Stark » Sun Nov 03, 2019 4:38 pm

I have a question: Are there still any basically issues between Kitely an GCG? I never can make a direct teleport to a GWG sim. Not by teleport invite, not by using a LM. I always have to go over the GWG welcome sim. And if I am in the sim I wanted to go, I mostly have problems with my mesh body (parts are invisible). That friend I know from GCG will make a similar ticket to his support. I never have such big problems in other grids except GCG. I hope the admins of both grids can fix it.

Thank you & greetings,
Mathilda
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
Posts: 4940
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has thanked: 2685 times
Been thanked: 2695 times
Contact:

Re: Teleport issues to Great Canadian Grid (GCG)

Post by Ilan Tochner » Sun Nov 03, 2019 4:44 pm

Hi Mathilda,

There is no different handling by our system for teleporting to or from GCG. It is handled the same as teleports to and from any other Hypergrid-enabled grid. What is the exact error message you get when you try to teleport from Kitely to a region on that grid? What is the exact error message you get when trying to teleport with a GCG avatar from that grid to Kitely?
User avatar
Mathilda Stark
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 8:25 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Teleport issues to Great Canadian Grid (GCG)

Post by Mathilda Stark » Sun Nov 03, 2019 4:53 pm

Hi Ilan!
Wow! That was a really quick response! Thank you!

Here is the message I receive when I try to TP by invite:
"Teleport failed. The destination region doesn't exist anymore.

This is the message, when I use the LM:
" Teleport failed. Problems connecting to destination Shasiya Dynasty, reason: Connection between viewer and destination region could not be establihed"

My friend gets no message when he want to TP over. It looks like the TP works, but it ends without a message or TP.
Last edited by Mathilda Stark on Sun Nov 03, 2019 5:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
Posts: 4940
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has thanked: 2685 times
Been thanked: 2695 times
Contact:

Re: Teleport issues to Great Canadian Grid (GCG)

Post by Ilan Tochner » Sun Nov 03, 2019 4:57 pm

Hi Mathilda,

This is for teleporting from Kitely to a location in GCG?
User avatar
Mathilda Stark
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 8:25 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Teleport issues to Great Canadian Grid (GCG)

Post by Mathilda Stark » Sun Nov 03, 2019 4:59 pm

Exactly. I can send you a LM inworld if you like.
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
Posts: 4940
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has thanked: 2685 times
Been thanked: 2695 times
Contact:

Re: Teleport issues to Great Canadian Grid (GCG)

Post by Ilan Tochner » Sun Nov 03, 2019 5:05 pm

When was that LM created?
User avatar
Mathilda Stark
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 8:25 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Teleport issues to Great Canadian Grid (GCG)

Post by Mathilda Stark » Sun Nov 03, 2019 5:15 pm

The LM was created today.

I also tried it by map. The link from OpenSim World is: login.greatcanadiangrid.ca:8002:Shasiya Dynasty

This is the message I receive when I put the URL in the map: "Teleport failed. Service request failed. The operation has timed out."
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
Posts: 4940
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has thanked: 2685 times
Been thanked: 2695 times
Contact:

Re: Teleport issues to Great Canadian Grid (GCG)

Post by Ilan Tochner » Sun Nov 03, 2019 5:38 pm

Please log into the Kitely Welcome Center (using the link on our viewer login page) then open Viewer > Preferences > Network & Files > Directories and press both the "Clear Cache" button and the "Clear Inventory Cache" button; then restart your viewer, log back into Kitely then try to use the map to teleport to your desired destination. Did that work?
User avatar
Mathilda Stark
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 8:25 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Teleport issues to Great Canadian Grid (GCG)

Post by Mathilda Stark » Sun Nov 03, 2019 6:02 pm

It did what you suggested. When I paste the URL "login.greatcanadiangrid.ca:8002:Shasiya Dynasty" in the map, it cannot be found. Then I tried the LM, that was created today, I got the same error message as before.
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
Posts: 4940
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has thanked: 2685 times
Been thanked: 2695 times
Contact:

Re: Teleport issues to Great Canadian Grid (GCG)

Post by Ilan Tochner » Sun Nov 03, 2019 6:35 pm

Please try searching for the GCG welcome region. Can you find that in the world map?
Post Reply