frankly, I am so excited about this new year news here, I made a personal video, quickly:
[blushes]
Re: All is revealed...
Posted: Wed Jan 01, 2014 4:08 pm
by Graham Mills
Agreed.
Dot Matrix wrote:
Graham Mills wrote:Worth noting that access for Regular Account users is turned on by default on metered worlds, i.e. the world owner pays 1 KC/min as of now.
In my worlds, previously free-to-visit worlds were automatically set to Regular Account access, while ones where people had used their own minutes to visit were automatically set to Premium Account access. So the switchover maintained the equivalent settings. Nothing to particularly be concerned about.
Re: All is revealed...
Posted: Wed Jan 01, 2014 4:44 pm
by Dot Matrix
I've a question about the new Access tab. It makes clear to the world manager the costs associated with Regular versus Premium Account holders.
However, suppose I would like to limit access to Premium Account holders plus those Regular Account holders who belong to a particular group. What options should I use?
I've just experimented by ticking the Premium box, unticking the Regular box, and setting up access to a group whose members include both Premium and Regular Account holders.
A Regular Account alt belonging to the relevant group could find the world on the viewer map, but when she tried to teleport there, there was a message that access was not permitted.
So I might not have fully understood the underlying mechanisms.
============
Edited to say that Oren's blog post (http://www.kitely.com/virtual-world-new ... -95-month/) explains that I would need to tick both Premium and Regular boxes to grant access to all members of particular groups, as in this scenario.
But then Premium members not in those groups would not be able to visit.
Re: All is revealed...
Posted: Wed Jan 01, 2014 5:47 pm
by Ilan Tochner
Hi Dot,
It works like a logical AND operation. You are a Premium / Premium or Regular account user AND you belong to one of the following groups (if any groups are defined).
If a group is defined then it will also restrict access of Premium account users to just members of that group. It's not a Premium account OR anyone belonging to so and so group(s).
It's not as flexible as it could be but the user interface for managing the alternative option would have been too complicated for some users.