How to set chat distance in my sim?

Ask questions about creating worlds, using worlds, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
Frank SquirrelHerder
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 7:16 pm
Location: North Dakota, USA
Has thanked: 123 times
Been thanked: 79 times

How to set chat distance in my sim?

Post by Frank SquirrelHerder »

I've noticed, upon exploring the hypergrid, that some sims have a normal chat (not whisper or shout) distance of 40 meters. It appears to be the default 20 meters for my Kitely sim.

Is there a way for me, as a sim owner, to increase that distance to 40 meters, by chance? I ask because I'd like to host events where we might not have to be quite so cramped to hear one another in public chat. :)
These users thanked the author Frank SquirrelHerder for the post:
Ilan Tochner
By day I write modern fantasy novels, by night I torture prims!
Powered by black coffee and dark beer.
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
Posts: 5517
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has thanked: 3275 times
Been thanked: 3364 times
Contact:

Re: How to set chat distance in my sim?

Post by Ilan Tochner »

Hi Frank,

As you've correctly stated, Kitely uses the default OpenSim chat distances. That isn't something you can currently configure but we may consider making it so in the future.
These users thanked the author Ilan Tochner for the post (total 2):
Frank SquirrelHerderChris Namaste
User avatar
Frank SquirrelHerder
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 7:16 pm
Location: North Dakota, USA
Has thanked: 123 times
Been thanked: 79 times

Re: How to set chat distance in my sim?

Post by Frank SquirrelHerder »

OK, thank you Ilan!

20m generally works fine in most cases, but my wife and I were kicking around the idea of setting up a weekly discussion group for people who like to talk about "ideas big and small" in an informal setting. I don't know how much interest there would be for such a thing, but want to ensure the space we allocate to it won't feel crowded. :)
These users thanked the author Frank SquirrelHerder for the post:
Kim McCabe
By day I write modern fantasy novels, by night I torture prims!
Powered by black coffee and dark beer.
Graham Mills
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:26 pm
Has thanked: 678 times
Been thanked: 809 times

Re: How to set chat distance in my sim?

Post by Graham Mills »

Ilan Tochner wrote:
Fri May 22, 2020 9:56 pm
Hi Frank,

As you've correctly stated, Kitely uses the default OpenSim chat distances. That isn't something you can currently configure but we may consider making it so in the future.
I'd support that as an option.
These users thanked the author Graham Mills for the post (total 2):
Frank SquirrelHerderChris Namaste
Graham Mills
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:26 pm
Has thanked: 678 times
Been thanked: 809 times

Re: How to set chat distance in my sim?

Post by Graham Mills »

Graham Mills wrote:
Sat May 23, 2020 7:53 am
Ilan Tochner wrote:
Fri May 22, 2020 9:56 pm
Hi Frank,

As you've correctly stated, Kitely uses the default OpenSim chat distances. That isn't something you can currently configure but we may consider making it so in the future.
I'd support that as an option, including making the distance shorter.
Post Reply