Terraforming issue

Ask questions about creating worlds, using worlds, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
Carlos Loff
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 8:58 pm
Location: Lisbon - Portugal
Has thanked: 263 times
Been thanked: 184 times
Contact:

Terraforming issue

Post by Carlos Loff »

Hello people,

I spent the last 4 days busy bee finishing Virtual Lisbon with Firestorm but for logistic reasons I had to build lower than regular (20m) fresh start regions, so lowered the ground and built everything quite close to the ground zero - Stuff sitting at 4m to 6m

Is now too late to go back cause I unlocked most builds to avoid server stress and there are thousands of parts

I now need to lower even more the river section for free swim, fishes and boats, cause the way it is now, Avatars can only get water up to half their body

The Terrain box allows me to setup lower terraform limit up to -100m but maybe is just an SL viewer legacy and I only need something like -10m or -15m, but when I use the terraform tool it does not go lower than 0m

My question is - Since I can't move all the builds higher in the sky (I can but would take me 3 days, arghhh), if I save the land to an OAR and than upload it back, will it keep the builds at the low level I built - 4m ? Or will it now show up at usual sims startup height 20m ?

Thank you in advance
These users thanked the author Carlos Loff for the post:
Ilan Tochner
Join Kitely Group --> Virtual Lisbon - Free & Safe
Join Me on Facebook --> https://www.facebook.com/groups/carlosloff
Kitely World - Virtual Lisbon --> https://www.kitely.com/virtual-world/Ca ... ual-Lisbon
User avatar
Ilan Tochner
Posts: 5203
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:44 am
Has thanked: 2976 times
Been thanked: 3020 times
Contact:

Re: Terraforming issue

Post by Ilan Tochner »

Hi Carlos,

The OAR file you create will include the same items in the same locations you placed them, which includes having them at the same elevation. Please note that some items may be filtered from the OAR file due to lack of exportability, see: https://www.kitely.com/virtual-world-ne ... plemented/.

We can restore your world to an earlier backup if you wish. Our system automatically backs up each world once per day and we keep up to 2 weeks worth of backups. Alternatively, you can increase the viewer's selection range, select all the items in your world using area select and then move all the items up or down together. However, I'd recommend not placing any item at below 0m. The SL viewer and TPVs can have rendering issues if you do so.
These users thanked the author Ilan Tochner for the post:
Chris Namaste
User avatar
Carlos Loff
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 8:58 pm
Location: Lisbon - Portugal
Has thanked: 263 times
Been thanked: 184 times
Contact:

Re: Terraforming issue

Post by Carlos Loff »

Thank you, I'm aware of OAR export features and only build with items that are export...

And it makes total sense what you said about the options, I should have been more careful about it and remember not everything works like on SL...

I prefere to leave things as they are now...

Many thanks...
These users thanked the author Carlos Loff for the post:
Chris Namaste
Join Kitely Group --> Virtual Lisbon - Free & Safe
Join Me on Facebook --> https://www.facebook.com/groups/carlosloff
Kitely World - Virtual Lisbon --> https://www.kitely.com/virtual-world/Ca ... ual-Lisbon
Post Reply